Team Leaders

Our Team Leaders work with a staff of highly qualified professionals who have a wide range of experience. Our team approach to projects brings the right mix of expertise to every project.

David L. Sweetland, P.E., P.L.S., President

Dave grew up in the State College community, graduated from State College Area High School in 1961 and Penn State University with a BS in Civil Engineering in 1965, and opened Sweetland Engineering & Associates, Inc. in 1970. Dave has used his 52 years as a civil engineer and licensed surveyor, and 47 years as a local business owner to make many positive impacts on State College and the surrounding region.

Mark Saville, P.L.S., Vice President

msaville@sweetland-eng.com

Mark’s 30+ years of experience in survey, design and project management, has given him the experience to lead our team. His ability to plan for both a project’s potential and limitations provides unmatched value to our clients. Beyond experience with traditional design/bid/build and design/build projects, Mark’s experience ranges to more innovative design-assist partnerships, integrated project deliveries (IPD) and other lean design/construction methods.

Alan Turner, Survey Department Manager

aturner@sweetland-eng.com

Alan has over 25 years of experience in the surveying profession as a field operations supervisor and more recently as the Survey Department Manager. He has performed field operations on a wide variety of projects ranging from complex construction layout, boundary and topographic surveys. Alan’s ability to take design drawings and make them fit on a site has made him the go to guy whenever contractors run into problems on their projects.

Steve Kirsch, P.E., Director of Design

skirsch@sweetland-eng.com

With over ten years of experience in civil site design, permitting and construction administration, Steve has been exposed to a wide range of projects, which allows him to use those experiences to provide a positive and impactful benefit to his client’s projects.  As Director of Design, Steve applies his understanding of the industry to lead our design team to outperform our client’s expectations, providing an accurate and timely design while maintaining an innovative mindset.

Miles Davidge,
Assistant Chief of Surveys

mdavidge@sweetland-eng.com

James Aumiller,
Survey Crew Chief

jaumiller@sweetland-eng.com

Brian Anderson, P.L.S.,
Project Manager

banderson@sweetland-eng.com

Garrett Gass, P.L.S.,
Project Manager

ggass@sweetland-eng.com

John Fisher, E.I.T.,
Project Manager/Civil Designer 

jfisher@sweetland-eng.com

  • Facebook Clean
  • White Twitter Icon
  • White Instagram Icon
  • White YouTube Icon
  • White LinkedIn Icon

Sweetland Engineering...Serving our community for over 47 years. 600 Science Park Road, State College, PA 16803 • 814-237-6518